Brazilian V8 Stock Cars: 10 ex-F1 drivers competing in the season-opening at Interlagos

Adriano Medeiros 8th March 2018

After a three-month summer breake, it is time to rev up the 500 horsepower V8 engines. Brazilian V8 Stock Cars open its 40th season this Saturday at 4:30 pm GMT (1:30 pm in Brazil) in Interlagos with the All-Star Race, in which the regular drivers share their cars with stars from all over the world.

The event features the first official race of Felipe Massa after leaving Formula One. He will share the Cimed #0 car with series five-time champion Cacá Bueno. Besides the former Williams driver, nine other ex-F1 presences are confirmed: Rubens Barrichello, Lucas di Grassi, Nelson Piquet, Ricardo Zonta, Tarso Marques and Antonio Pizzonia, plus the guest stars Felipe Nasr, Luciano Burti, Massa and Formula E racewinner Jerôme D’Ambrosio.

Stars from other series are in the race as well, with the likes of DTM aces Nico Mueller, Jamie Green and Robin Frijns, long-time Japan’s Super GT racer João Paulo Oliveira, GT winners Laurens Vanthoor, Jeroen Bleekemolen, Kelvin Van Der Linde, Jean-Karl Vernay, Chris Van Der Drift, WTCC racewinner Nick Castburg, Australia’s Supercar champion Mark Winterbottom, and endurance stars such as Oliver Jarvis, Filipe Albuquerque, Pipo Derani, and drivers from Argentina’s top series.

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather