Brazilian Stock debut in Minas Gerais

Adriano Medeiros 20th November 2016



Fraga and Barrichello follow the championship order and start 1-2 in Minas Gerais

Current leader smashed the competition by lapping with a stunning time of 1min51s282, almost four tenths faster than his closest rival

The first Stock Car pole position at the Circuito dos Cristais, in the city of Curvelo, Minas Gerais, is Felipe Fraga. Current series leader smashed the previous laptimes by setting a 1min51s282, 0s338 on his closest contender, Rubens Barrichello. An unusual gap, since the series is known by its competitiveness with grids decided by thousandths of a second.

“It really was an excellent lap, neither I could believe it”, said an astonished Felipe. “I knew I had a good car, but I was not expecting to set this lap time. The car was perfect from the beginning”, he finished.

Rubens Barrichello follows the championship order to take the second grid spot for race one this Sunday afternoon (starts 1 pm local time). “I squeezed everything out of the car, pushing to the extreme limit. Although, it seemed Felipe had a better balance, in a more favorable situation. Let’ see, because the race is going to be completely new for everyone”, told the 2014 Stock Car champion, who could only take Marcos Gomes off the second place and avoid a 1-2 from the Cimed Racing drivers.

As a new track, the 4.420-km long circuit represents a new challenge due its characteristics. Anti-clockwise, the Circuito dos Cristais features ups, downs, 18 corners that mix slow, medium and fast bends, almost all of them where the driver cannot visualize the following corner after turning the previous ones.

This scenario makes the drivers predict some safety car interventions, which could mix the strategies in order to save fuel and do both races with only one tank – having no need to refuel.

Marcos Gomes, Valdeno Brito, Allam Khodair, Nestor Girolami, Cacá Bueno, Lucas Foresti and Thiago Camilo close the top-10.

Qualifying Results:
1-) 88 Felipe Fraga (Cimed Racing) – 1min51s282
2-) 111 Rubens Barrichello (Full Time Sports) – 1min51s620
3-) 80 Marcos Gomes (Cimed Racing) – 1min51s644
4-) 77 Valdeno Brito (TMG Racing) – 1min51s878
5-) 18 Allam Khodair (Full Time Sports) – 1min51s936
6-) 63 Nestor Girolami (Eisenbahn Racing Team) – 1min51s957
7-) 0 Cacá Bueno (Red Bull Racing) – 1min52s021
😎 46 Vitor Genz (Eisenbahn Racing Team) – 1min52s060
9-) 12 Lucas Foresti (Full Time-ProGP) – 1min52s063
10-) 90 Ricardo Mauricio (Eurofarma RC) – 1min52s131**
11-) 21 Thiago Camilo (Ipiranga-RCM) – 1min52s133
12-) 65 Max Wilson (Eurofarma RC) – 1min52s160
13-) 5 Denis Navarro (Vogel Motorsport) – 1min52s344
14-) 73 Sergio Jimenez (Cavaleiro Sports) – 1min52s368
15-) 51 Átila Abreu (Shell Racing) – 1min52s385
16-) 83 Gabriel Casagrande (C2 Axalta Racing) – 1min52s386
17-) 4 Julio Campos (C2 Axalta Racing) – 1min52s399
18-) 10 Ricardo Zonta (Shell Racing) – 1min52s494
19-) 8 Rafael Suzuki (Vogel Motorsport) – 1min52s520
20-) 29 Daniel Serra (Red Bull Racing) – 1min52s539
21-) 110 Felipe Lapenna (Hot Car Competições) – 1min52s671
22-) 70 Diego Nunes (União Química Racing) – 1min52s698
23-) 117 Guilherme Salas (RZ Motorsport) – 1min52s701
24-) 28 Galid Osman (Ipiranga-RCM) – 1min52s994
25-) 25 Tuka Rocha (RZ Motorsport) – 1min53s009
26-) 26 Raphael Abbate (Hot Car Competições) – 1min53s036
27-) 3 Bia Figueiredo (União Química Racing) – 1min53s063
28-) 9 Guga Lima (TMG Racing) – 1min53s396
29-) 99 Xandynho Negrão (Cavaleiro Sports) – 1min53s967
**#90 car penalized – will start from P29

Official Website:

High resolution pictures: Stock Car no Flickr

Stock Car on YouTube: Stock Car Channel

Stock Car on Facebook: Stock Car Oficial

Follow us on Twitter: Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather